History of the University of Nairobi

History of the University of Nairobi Since 1956: List of UoN Alumni Celebrities in Kenyan Politics

The history of the University of Nairobi dates back to the mid-20th century when British colonial rule was rampant in the country. The higher learning institution continues to produce competent graduates, decades later.

Notable alumni include members Wangari Maathai, PLO Lumumba, James Mwangi, Martha Karua, and President William Ruto.

History of the University of Nairobi (UoN) since the 1950s

The University of Nairobi (UoN) is a leading institution of higher education located in Nairobi, Kenya.

Here’s a brief overview of its history:

1. Establishment of UoN in 1956

The University of Nairobi was established in 1956 as the Royal Technical College, a constituent college of the University of London.

Its main aim was to provide technical and professional education to the growing demand in East Africa.

2. Award of UoN Charter in 1970

In 1970, the Royal Technical College was granted a university charter and became the University of Nairobi.

READ ALSO:  History of Dedan Kimathi University Since 1972: From a Constituent of JKUAT to the Chartered DeKUT

This allowed the institution to have greater autonomy in academic and administrative matters.

3. Growth and expansion

Over the years, the University of Nairobi experienced significant growth and expansion.

It established additional faculties, departments, and institutes, broadening its academic offerings and research capabilities.

It became a leading centre for higher education and research in East Africa.

4. Political and economic roles

The University of Nairobi played a significant role in Kenya’s political history.

During the 1980s and 1990s, it was a hotbed of political activism and a centre for pro-democracy movements.

Students and faculty members participated in protests and advocacy for political reform.

5. 2005 Restructuring and colleges

In 2005, the University of Nairobi underwent a restructuring process aimed at improving governance, efficiency, and quality of education.

  • It resulted in the establishment of six colleges:
  • The College of Agriculture and Veterinary Sciences
  • College of Architecture and Engineering
  • College of Biological and Physical Sciences
  • College of Education and External Studies
  • College of Health Sciences
  • College of Humanities and Social Sciences
READ ALSO:  Kisii National Polytechnic contacts: Location, directions, address, box number, and management

6. Research and innovation

The University of Nairobi has a strong emphasis on research and innovation.

It has numerous research centres and institutes that contribute to various fields, including agriculture, health sciences, technology, and social sciences.

The institution actively collaborates with local and international partners to foster research excellence.

7. Regional and international recognition

The University of Nairobi has gained regional and international recognition for its academic achievements and research contributions.

It is consistently ranked as one of the top universities in Africa and has partnerships with renowned institutions worldwide.

READ ALSO:  Latest Teachers Salary Increase: TSC CEO Nancy Macharia Announces 9.5% Pay Rise & Mass Recruitment

Today, the University of Nairobi is a leading institution of higher learning in Kenya and the region. It offers a wide range of undergraduate and postgraduate programs, thus contributing to the development of Kenya and beyond education, research, and innovation.

Scroll to Top